Soliva's Digital Veil

My history with Linux and why I can't use it anymore

I really want to love Linux. My first experience with it was when my dad installed a distro for kids called Qimo Linux on a spare laptop when I was like 8 or 9, I have fond memories of it.

Soliva's Digital Veil

Then when I got a laptop for my 14th birthday in 2016 I wanted to try Linux out so I installed Ubuntu 14.04 and by the end of the year I (amateurishly) had an Arch install running, which was a headache. But I learned a lot in the process and had fun.

Since then I've been on and off Linux but mostly off, getting the urge to try it again about once a year but there was always something keeping me from staying. Sometimes it'd be little UI bugs or a program just refusing to install or work no matter what. I'd spend hours upon hours troubleshooting each issue I had but the thing is it never ended. I was never completely satisfied with my OS.

So I decided to try one more time last week. I backed up all my important files and was ready to wipe my SSD and take the plunge back into Linux. I distrohopped a few times, trying EndeavorOS, Manjaro, Mint and finally Arch again using the new archinstall script I hadn't had a chance to try out yet. I will say that script is pretty great honestly, installing it was arguably easier than any GUI installer.

However there was still the dozens of little problems I had with it regardless of which distro I was using. It's like everything takes 10x more work to do on Linux versus Windows and I think I've just had enough of it. I've had real experience with it for 8 years now and I think it's safe to say that it's a fun operating system at times, can definitely look pretty if you're on KDE/can rice window managers but at the end of the day it's really not something that "just works" and I'm not sure it ever will be.